Australia and New Zealand

Australia and New Zealand 

Consisting of Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Indonesian New Guinea, the continent of Australasia contains both the smallest number of nation states and the least inhabitants. Nevertheless, there is great variety to be found amongst these islands.

Whilst English is the lingua franca of the continent, in New Guinea alone there are over 820 different languages, which goes some way to describing the vast diversity that exists just below the surface. So, while there is a mix of Aboriginal and Western culture in Australia, or Maori and Western culture in New Zealand, within each of those spheres there are vast regional differences. Visitors from other English-speaking countries will notice great variety between say British or American cultural habits and mannerisms, and those of their Australian or New Zealand counterparts.

Culture Smart! will help you find your way amongst the differences so that you can get the most out of your time abroad. The values, attitudes, customs and quirks of each country are explored, as are the key historical and cultural events that have shaped them.

Plentiful advice on how to approach particular situations and how to avoid the pitfalls make this a hands-on and practical guide, as do the chapters on daily life and communication, both verbal and non-verbal. Culture Smart! will bring you closer to understanding your hosts and help you to build good relations with them.

New Zealand